vegetarian menu rules

Vegetarian Diet Etiquette: 4 Rules For Guests And Hosts​

Earn a free micro-certificate with a quick quiz!

Who is this micro-class for

* Waiters and hospitality staff

* House-party hosts

* Guests on a vegetarian diet

What you’ll learn

* What a vegetarian diet is

* How to provide a safe dining experience to guests on a vegetarian diet

Resources

* Less than 6 minutes to complete

About this micro-class

Vegetarian etiquette is the set of rules to appropriately plan a menu and manage the dining experience for guests on a vegetarian diet.

1. Be prepared to tend to your vegetarian guests

In general, a vegetarian diet excludes meat. Some diets exclude other foods too, such as fish or seafood.

There are some stricter or more flexible interpretations. Some vegetarians may include or exclude some foods due to health, personal, or other concerns.

2. Plan a safe vegetarian menu and dining experience

Avoid traces of non-vegetarian foods and cross-contamination

Follow cooking etiquette principles to cook food safely and avoid cross-contamination. Designate specific utensils, cutting boards, and cooking surfaces for vegetarian dishes.

Create a transparent vegetarian menu

Clearly mark all the dishes or items on the menu that are 100% vegetarian. Label them with a recognized symbol or statement. Make detailed ingredient lists available to customers or guests upon request.

Serve each food on its dedicated plate

Allow your vegetarian guests to pick the foods they can eat and avoid the ones they cannot eat.

Avoid serving multiple foods on the same plate. Instead, try to separate them. Assign a plate to each food or ingredient. Serve condiments and sauces separately from food. Present each food with its serving utensils.

Include safe options for your vegetarian guests

Some foods are appropriate for most diets. Plan some safe dishes that almost any guest will be able to eat. For instance, baked potatoes or salad are safe options for most guests.

Be open to accomodate any special needs of your vegetarian guests

Offer ingredient substitutions whenever possible to accommodate guests on a vegetarian diet. Be transparent about potential substitutions and any extra costs involved.

Be open to customizing dishes and offering a vegetarian version. Clearly communicate any limitations in customization due to the nature of the dish or kitchen processes.

Avoid foods that are not appropriate for vegetarians

Meat

Any type of meat is not vegetarian, regardless of the production method, the animal, or any other factor. Beef, veal, pork, chicken, poultry, and venison should all be excluded from a vegetarian menu.

However, substitute meat is allowed, such as seitan or meat made from vegetables.

Fish and seafood

Guests may interpret the vegetarian diet in different ways. Some opt for a stricter approach and exclude any living animal from their diet. In such cases, fish or seafood are commonly excluded.

More flexible diets exclude meat but allow fish or seafood as a source of protein. Different approaches exist. Some people eat both fish and seafood, while others exclude fish but allow seafood.

Many vegetarians do not eat seafood due to ethical concerns, such as lobsterscampi, and crab. Such animals are often cooked in ways considered harmful and inhumane, and thus they are usually avoided.

Dairy products and cheese

Milk, dairy products, and cheese are often allowed on a vegetarian menu. 

According to most interpretations, such products do not involve harm to any animal. Thus, they are allowed.

However, interpretations may differ. Some vegetarians may exclude some or all dairy products from their diet.

Eggs and honey

In most cases, vegetarians eat eggs or honey. According to most interpretations, eggs or honey do not involve harm to any animal. 

However, interpretations may differ. Some vegetarians may exclude eggs while others do not eat honey. Others exclude both from their diet.

Vegetables, fruits, and tree nuts

Most vegetarians eat all types of vegetables and fruit.

Grains

Vegetarians can eat any type of grain, such as pasta, couscous, quinoa, and amaranth.  

Bakery products and bread are allowed. However, bread or bakery products are not vegetarian if they include animal fat or meat in their ingredients. Thus, a stick of bread with ham cubes or fried in animal fat is not vegetarian. 

The same rules apply to pizza. Pizza is vegetarian unless some of the toppings or ingredients are excluded foods.

Condiments and sauces

Oil, vinegar, salt, and spices are vegetarian. 

However, any condiment of animal origin may not be vegetarian. Animal fat is always excluded. Some people may exclude bottarga, fish oil such as anchovy sauce, or similar products too.

Sweets and desserts

In general, vegetarians can eat any type of sweets or dessert. 

However, sweets or desserts are not vegetarian if they are made using animal fat. For instance, fritters fried in animal fat are not vegetarian. 

If a vegetarian does not eat eggs or honey, then every dessert made with those foods is excluded too.

Drinks and alcoholic beverages

A vegetarian menu allows most beverages, such as soft drinks, beer, wine, and spirits. 

Cocktails are generally allowed, unless they include some ingredients that vegetarians do not eat.

3. Politely ask your vegetarian guests about their food restrictions

At home

It is perfect etiquette to ask your vegetarian guests about their dietary restrictions. Vegetarian diets differ and may include or exclude different foods.

In written formal invitations, it is sufficient to ask guests to inform the hosts about any dietary requirements. In informal invitations, a simple “Do you follow any diet or have any dietary restrictions?” works. Another option is to ask if guests avoid any food. 

Never judge or question someone’s dietary restrictions. Avoid asking additional questions, such as why someone follows a diet. Some guests may be uncomfortable sharing their food restrictions.

Hospitality

Hospitality staff should encourage guests to communicate their food allergies or intolerances when making reservations and upon arrival. 

Waiters should ask about food allergies before taking orders, and convey this information to the kitchen.

4. Etiquette for vegetarian guests

Clearly communicate your food restrictions

Clearly state with your host that you are on a vegetarian diet and have dietary restrictions.

Do not expect a change in the menu based on your needs. As a guest, you do not want to sound entitled. Instead, you can ask if there may be some vegetarian options for you. 

Do not expect the host to accommodate your requests. However, any considerate host will feel compelled to adjust the menu to your needs.

Politely refuse food that you do not eat

If the host serves a type of food that you do not eat, simply avoid it. If the host or another guest explicitly offers such food to you, politely refuse it. It is enough to say “no, thank you”. 

Provide additional details only if someone asks you. Be brief and avoid annoying others with your dietary restrictions.

Do not pressure others

Do not expect others to adjust their menu or diet to your dietary restrictions. Similarly, at a restaurant, do not expect the other guests to change their food order.

Vegetarian etiquette mistakes

The worst etiquette mistakes for a host are: 

  • Not accommodating your vegetarian guests’ needs that are due to their food restrictions.
  • Using the same kitchenware with different foods.
  • Asking personal dietary questions.

The worst etiquette mistakes for vegetarian guests are: 

  • Not communicating your dietary restrictions to the host.
  • Pressuring others.
  • Sharing unsolicited details about your diet.

Test Your Knowledge and Earn a Free Micro-certificate

Earn a free micro-certificate with a quick quiz!

Additional resources & links